Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Constant circ for dummies

Options
steven E.HEAT
steven E.HEAT Member Posts: 47
can you please direct me to a good and resonably priced thermal imaging camera. thank you

Comments

• Gene Davis_2
    Gene Davis_2 Member Posts: 71
    Options
    Please explain constant circ w/ rads and TRVs

I'm a newbie at this and able and willing to learn. Is it explained as simply as, when the boiler's on, the circulator is moving HW through the loops that feed radiators?

Or is it more complex. Please explain.

• Uni R_3
    Uni R_3 Member Posts: 299
    Options
    Depends on the system...

With a single temp zone it's a very simple solution. With multiple temp circuits and or zoning, the required the amount of complexity, controls, pumps and costs jumps greatly.
  • Ted_9
    Ted_9 Member Posts: 1,718
    Options
    Theory

I guess I would explain it as this:

Sizing the radiators(or radiant, or what ever) and piping to use the smallest possible circulator(to save electricity) and using the lowest possible water temps(to save on fuel) to heat a given space while circulating this warm water to match the btu loss.

I think that was a run-on sentence.

Massachusetts

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • Brad White
    Brad White Member Posts: 2,398
    Options
    Constant Circulation

In it's simplest form and as I have applied it, it goes like this:

1) The circulator runs all the time when there is a call or potential for heat. This can be either by a manual switch or by an outdoor thermostat set to turn on the pump when it is below say 65 degrees.

2) The space thermostat fires the boiler to satisfy the space.