Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Make old steamer in apartment run better?

Options
JH_2
JH_2 Member Posts: 57

Comments

• JH_2
    Options

Hi all...
    Looking for some advice from the steamheads while I wait for Dan's book to get here in the mail.

I'm not a pro, just a renter that moved into an apartment with steam heat. I had a place with gas/steam

years ago but I never thought about it much. This new place has issues, so I read pretty much

everything on here and am looking for advice.

First off I rent. Im on the second floor of a two family with 2 oil fired single pipe steam plants. My

boiler is an American Severn, boilerplate says 400 sq ft rad on a 1.75 burner. Its baffled and per the

maintenance card is running 1.2gph. It has a tankless coil water heater tied into a superstor ultra

tank setup - I guess to run like an indirect? The boiler has a single header - I think 3.5 or 4 in that T's into the mains, I measured about 28-30" from the water line to the main. The main is a single straight run - 12 ft to the back of the house of 1.5" and 25 ft to the front of the house of 2" necked down to 1.5" and appear to be pitched well. There are main vents but they are near the boiler. From reading in the library Im roughly guessing around 150-175 sq ft of radiators.

It drinks oil - 1/2 a 275g tank in 6 weeks just making hot water. Also the rads heat uneven and lots

of water hammer, hissing vents. And the basement was aobut 85F.

The system works - thought not great - but I figured with some work I can get it running better.

Landlord has the service contract so I had the tech in to do the tune up. One radiator - that looks

like a late add on - wont heat at all so he turned up the pressuretrol, which as I expected from

reading didnt do anything.