Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Removing a radiator

Michelle_5
Michelle_5 Member Posts: 4
Sorry, I don't know what everything is called. I think meant to say the nuts are stuck. I will try and post a picture later.

Thanks

Comments

• Michelle_5
    Removing a radiator

This is my first time posting here. Does anyone know easiest way to remove a radiator (all the bolts are stuck)

I just need to remove it temporarily to have my floors done.

Any suggestions would be appreciated
  • Charles G.
    Charles G. Member Posts: 113
    Radiator

Bolts? What bolts? The stucker it is, the bigger the wrench. But maybe you should post a picture before you get into trouble. Or at least 'splain yourself a little more.
  • John Ketterman
    John Ketterman Member Posts: 187

I am not sure what you mean by "all the bolts are stuck". Post a photo of where the pipe(s) go into your radiator, but most radiators are connected to the piping using unions.

Looking FROM the valve or elbow TOWARDS the radiator, you need to turn the nut (between the valve/elbow and the radiator) CLOCKWISE to loosen.

Equvalently, looking FROM the radiator TOWARDS the valve or elbow, you need to turn the nut (between the valve/elbow and the radiator) ANTICLOCKWISE to loosen.

They can be very hard to turn, and a long wrench or extender (unsafe) will probably be needed. That's because there is no pipe dope on the thread. When you reassemble, do not use pipe dope.
  • Brad White_9
    Brad White_9 Member Posts: 2,440
    Michelle

They just be teasing.... not intending anything adverse to helping you. Just so you know. Welcome! You came to the right place. Good hearts, good minds. Sometimes both :)
  • Charles G.
    Radiator

But not necessarily at the same time. Multple choice--take your pick.
  • Charles G.
    Radiator