Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Revisit DIYers

Options
2»

Comments

• Dan_15
    Dan_15 Member Posts: 388
    Options

Perry, you've hit on something that I think is of great importance for professionals to understand--"communication." It makes no difference how skilled a tradesperson you are, and how much experience you have under your belt, if you are unable to communicate your skills to the homeowner. I am a professional in a completely unrelated field and the same rule applies to me, too. With a project as complicated and personalized as a boiler replacement, a homeowner is bound to feel lost among all the variables.

By and large, the professionals who post messages on this website are the cream of the crop in this business, and are very skilled at communicating why and how their system design and trade skills are to be differentiated from others. But it is truly surprising how many of other contractors out there do not appreciate the concept of good communication. I dont mean that you have to have graduate level grammar and writing skills. I mean that in our consumer society it has become an accepted maxim that the "customer is always right"; and that sort of philosophy has been imported into pracically every facet of our lives involving consumer products, regarless of whether there is an associated component for service or skilled labor.