Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

why is using a differential bypass valve important with zone val

Options
rb_6
rb_6 Member Posts: 222

Comments

• Matt_40
    Matt_40 Member Posts: 4
    Options
    why is using a differential bypass valve important with zone val

I recently went to a taco seminar. They briefly discussed using their diffential bypass valve with zone valve applications. Can someone help me understand why this is important and what would happen if i dont use this device. Would it be possible if only one zone was calling and say your pumping away would there be enough pressure built up to push a zone valve open that was'nt calling? Im a young plumber/heat tech if you cant tell all ready. I recently piped a boiler a using zone valves on the supply and pumping away from compression tank I still have the option to install the pressure differential valve. I got a price on it and it would cost $75 my boss is old school and never used them he still sticks the circ on the return I need to convince him as well as myself that this is important. Thanks for any imput. cheers
  • Joe Mattiello
    Joe Mattiello Member Posts: 707
    Options

Using a pressure differential by-pass valve will help keep the velocity consistent in all the zones. The pump is sized to handle all the zones calling for heat simultaneously because flow is collective, but if only one zone calls for heat the velocity can go up exponentially causing erosion, and noise.
    Joe Mattiello
    N. E. Regional Manger, Commercial Products
    Taco Comfort Solutions
  • clammy
    clammy Member Posts: 3,113
    Options
    differental pressure valves