Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

One pipe steam system problem

Ken_10
Ken_10 Member Posts: 7
Would it be worthwhile to clean the boiler with TSP and skim afterward? I could probably pull the hot water coil and clean with a hose nozzle either before or after the TSP. I'm trying not to tie up any more labor time than will be necessary to rectify the problem properly.

Comments

• Ken_10

I have a one pipe steam system that I have been servicing for a few years that has developed a problem I can't pinpoint. Any suggestions would be welcomed. The system has not undergone any major changes in equipment or adjustments to steam pressure in at least 3 years. Pressure cut-out is at 1.5 psi and cut in is at .5psi. The problem is that the radiators push water out of the vents. One radiator sounds like it has water in it at all times. The boiler water line stays near the middle of the glass and the homeowner rarely needs to add water. There is no automatic feed. They use the boiler for domestic water too and that works well as it always has. I made sure that all radiator inlet valves are fully open. There are no vents on the ends of the mains (there are 2) but there never was. There aren't fittings that could ever have had main vents on them. The mains are insulated. I added a quart of 8 Way treatment when the problem started a few weeks ago and that didn't change anything. The water has always been clean in the glass. I don't know what to try next and don't know how to nail down the problem. Any suggestions can be posted here or emailed to me directly. I have more information on the equipment but didn't want to go overboard with this post.

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Ken
  • Steamhead (in transit)
    Steamhead (in transit) Member Posts: 6,688
    You need to skim the boiler