Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Another \"keep the steam?\" post

Options
BC
BC Member Posts: 28
For all the info and input, guys. I'm going to have to do some thinking and try to figure a way to keep the steam without pumping the middle east dry. Time to do some insulating!

Comments

• BC
    Options

Please bear with my long post, I'm just trying to think things through out loud...

I have an 1850’s Victorian house with beautiful marble-topped one-pipe steam radiators. The system is reliable and comfortable for the most part, especially in cold weather. As an engineer I appreciate the simplicity of it and enjoy tinkering with the vents etc to get everything balanced as well as possible.

My problem is that I am currently burning about 2000 gallons of oil per year, heating only the 1st floor. Now that will improve as I renovate the house and insulate (R-19 walls, R-30 roof, new low-e windows, etc), but my heat loss calcs show an ultimate heat loss of about 65,000 btu on a 0deg day, which still translates to about 1200 gallons of oil per year (80%afue). The boiler is ancient and huge, but it is downfired about as low as it can go due to not running half the rads and the tech measured the efficency while it is running at 75% or so. It definitely needs replacing for safety and reliability reasons, but I’m not expecting to see a huge efficiency gain with the new boiler. The contractor quoted $8500 for new boiler, oil tanks, and chimney liner (he knows his steam, and he put in the current setup with his Dad many years ago).