Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Condensing Boiler Sizing

Options
I'm a service Tech for a HVAC contractor in Nothern NJ. I am considering a condensing boiler (Munchkin) for my home and there seems to be a difference of opinion on sizing based on the existing HWBB radiation. Keeping in mind that the new boiler will turn down instead of the constant firing rate of the present boiler. How do I correctly size the boiler for three unequal size zones especially for milder weather. I am also considering adding an indirect WH if the boiler works out. I would be looking at the T50M, T80M or 80M.

Comments

. Member Posts: 80
    Options

I am confused by the question. You are unsure about sizing, but you have already decided that you want an 80MBTU boiler? You want to size based on mild weather? You want to size based on existing radiation?

Hot water boilers are not sized based on ho much radiation you have. They are sized on the basis of maximum BTU needed by the house...on a design day, with all zones calling for heat.
  • Chuckles_3
    Chuckles_3 Member Posts: 110
    Options

Correction: I see now that you are trying to choose between 50 and 80.
  • Ed Goldner, NJ
    Ed Goldner, NJ Member Posts: 25
    Options
    Clarification

My house has 3 existing zones with Slant-Fin Fineline 30 3/4 baseboard radiation. Zones have 53', 35' and 22'of baseboard.Based on 600BTU per liner ft @ 180F water = 66,000 btu total which is exactly the I=B=R rating of the existing boiler I installed 12 years ago. My concern is the low end firing rate of the condensing boiler at mild ambient conditions with , lets say only 1 zone with 22' of radiation calling. The present boiler with a constant firing rate cycles more frequently. With the Munchkin turning down and its low water content I am concerned about short cycling.