Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Importance of Relief Valve Piping!

Options
I wanted to take a few minutes to tell a story about the importance of piping the discharge from relief valves to the floor.

Several years ago I went on a call for a second opinion on a job. I am not a boiler expert but went to see what I could do. They had a leak in the copper return line and someone said they would fix it. They cut the leaking fitting out and never came back. Everything sat drained all summer and of course it was now turning cold and they wanted heat.

I could not tell what it would take until I got started so they gave me approval to see what I could do. First I replaced the missing fittings and pipe. Next I started to refill the system. Immediately the relief valve started leaking. It must have been open and just stuck that way. Next I replaced that and started filling again. This time everything held.

Now to get the air out. As I stated before I am not an expert, Plumbing is what I do. So I did what I normally do. I did not have a way of purging the air other then just starting to bleed the radiators. Now how I usually do this if I am by myself is close the expansion tank valve, and crack the quick fill until it hits around 25psi. Then I start to bleed the air out. When it slows I go back and fill it up again. I think my first mistake was I cranked up the thermostat so I could keep track of how far I was getting heat. I just kept filling and bleeding and feeling the pipes to see if I was getting the heat anywhere.