Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wet/Dry based boilers?

scott75
scott75 Member Posts: 100
Hi guys, very elementary question here. I'm new to HVAC and don't do much with hydronics. Only recently have I heard wet based and dry based boilers. What is the difference? Does the wet base have water sections surrounding combustion chamber? Someone just posted a thread on HVAC-talk similar to this and said that the refractory material isn't NEEDED (but obviously it is very good practice to have one) on a wet based boiler. Is this true? What are other differences between wet and dry? Pro's and con's?

Scott

Comments

• DaveGateway
    DaveGateway Member Posts: 568
    You're partly right

A wet based boiler has the boiler water surround the burner flame. Of course it doesn't always have sectons like a steel boiler (Laars Max, Energy Kinetics, Burnham LE, etc)
    And a refractory is usually not needed or wanted since the cast iron/steel is absorbing the heat directly and being kept from burning by the cooling effect of the boiler water. A dry base boiler has a fire box under the boiler and will need refractory material oposite the burner (target wall) to absorb and help distribute the heat back up into the bottom of the boiler. Since the fire is under the boiler, most dry based boilers are vertical tube to get the exhaust gases past the boiler and out the top mounted flue. This adds to the stand by loss, puts all the heating stress on the bottom of the boiler vessel and of course refractory material breaks down over time.
  • scott75
    scott75 Member Posts: 100

Does the boiler water actually surround both sides, back, bottom, and (of course) top? On a dry based boiler, is there nothing between the target wall and boiler jactet?
  • You're correct

Both times.

Noel
  • J.C.A._3
    J.C.A._3 Member Posts: 2,980