Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant Heat Setup ?

Options
Chris Bailey
Chris Bailey Member Posts: 1
I am building a new house for myself. I am a plumber with no radiant heating experience. i want to install radiant heat in the house. Tile floors on the fist floor, carpet and harwood floors on 2nd floor, basement ? . What would be a reliable and trouble free system ? Setup, Piping Type ?

Comments

• Alan(CaliforniaRadiant)Forbes
    Options
    If I were

building a new house, I'd use Warmboard as the subfloor (grooved to accept PEX tubing) along with a Munchkin boiler with a Vision I outdoor reset control or a Viessmann Vitodens boiler.

The PEX tubing and manifolds would be Rehau.

Piping? Contrary to my east coast friends, I'd pipe one big loop around the house with either zone valves or manifold actuators at the manifolds.

But that's just me.

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • Unknown
    Options
    make sure

-Your rooms are isolated on their own loops, whatever method you use to install tubing

-I would favor primary/secondary with variable speed injection, indoor/outdoor feedback for best efficiency and hardwood floor protection and not too much increase in system cost. The controllers that do this have been in use for years and are quite reliable.

Just a couple of thoughts. There are thousands of others :D

Northeast Radiant Technology, LLC

Robert Brown, Co-Owner, RPA certified Radiant Designer

NRT@maine.rr.com
  • Weezbo
    Weezbo Member Posts: 6,232
    Options
    I think it might depend on where you live......