Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

loctite sealing thread

jack z
jack z Member Posts: 5
I am about to install a Buderus boiler. Buderus has included a container of loctite sealing thread for use on the transitional straight thread fittings. I have never used this material before. Any tricks or hints for getting a leak free connection. Thanks.

Comments

• Constantin
    Constantin Member Posts: 3,796
    Well, if it's like the locktite I use...

Note, I have never installed a Buderus boiler. In fact, I'm a homeowner, not a contractor... Therefore, I may have no experience with the particular type of Loctite you're using.

However, I use Loctite all the time. Just yesterday, I used the generic automotive "blue" variety to secure my summer tire wheel-bolts to the car. That way, the bolts will not loosen and vibrate off, the lubrication helps with getting the torque right also. The blue stuff is meant to be removable, the red stuff sets, never to be undone.

I believe most of these glues are variations on cyanoacrylates, i.e. superglue. They harden in the absence of oxygen, i.e. once the bolt/thread/etc. is in place, not before. There is a version of Loctite for everything. A quick look over at the McMaster Carr catalog indicated something like 10-12 pages worth. I'm sure that's just the beginning.

Anyway, the application instructions call for coating the first couple of threads 360°, then inserting the bolt/pipe/whatever into its final place. Loctite is easy to use, seals up nicely, and makes me sleep better at night.

I presume that the Loctite that Buderus included with their boiler is meant primarily to seal the threads against leaks and secondarily to keep the components together despite heat/cold expansion contraction, vibration, etc.
  • Matt Undy
    Matt Undy Member Posts: 256