Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant Heating/Cooling

Options
bhpboy
bhpboy Member Posts: 4
About to close on a 12,000 square foot brownstone in downtown Boston. The building will be gutted and turned into 6 luxury 2000 square foot condos. Each unit will have its own systems. Trying to decide whether or not radiant/heating cooling should be installed instead of a forced air type solution. I am a novice in this area, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• GMcD
    GMcD Member Posts: 477
    Options
    Whole building approach

The decision needs to be made based on how well the windows and walls will be specified. Radiant cooling in Boston will require dehumidification through the ventilator/ventilation system. I would strongly suggest you have an engineer and an architect involved who know how to design the whole building to suit radiant systems. Especially for radiant cooling- you will need to have very high thermal performance windows (R-5 or better) as well as good solar gain control via window tints, exterior shading devices or other means. I would suggest that this project would be a good candidate for the Karo Capillary tube system- applied to plaster ceilings with some limited floor warming only in the bathrooms. If you are considering trying to use floor cooling, be aware of the limited capability of floor cooling. Combined heating and cooling radiant from the ceilings would be a much better approach in my opinion.
  • bhpboy
    Options

So sounds as though in the city of Boston Radiant Heating/Cooling may be more trouble than it is worth?
  • Nron_9
    Nron_9 Member Posts: 237
    Options
    rad cooling