Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New Install

Options
Ok, My first time here so be gentle.
First of all, I am a pretty competent do-itiyourselfer. I have a 25 year old split foyer home. It has baseboard electric heat that I supplement with a wood burning stove. A split foyer for those who dont know is the type of home that the front door opens on a landing with steps up to the main floor or down to the gameroom garage level. The man who built the house was a plasterer by trade, the whole house has finished walls and ceilings. I have had contractors come out and tell me a forced air system could not be installed because of no access to the space between the floor joists, and low ceiling height in the game room.
I would love to install a hot water system with baseboard heater but I have some concerns. I may be able to run copper pipes between the joists but am concerned because I would be running these blind, there will be electrical wiring and fiberglass insulation in there. Would 180 degree water in a copper pipe harm either of these? Could I use PEX tubing instead, would this be a better choice? How about running lines on the surface of the ceiling/walls and using a cover of some type?
Most HVAC contractors around here dont do alot of hot water heat, and especially not in any type of plastic pipe.
How about boiler recomendations? I have electric and propane. Should I also do my domestic hot water with the same boiler? Am I kidding myself thinking I can do most of this?

Comments

• Weezbo
    Weezbo Member Posts: 6,232
    Options
    look for a clear path.