Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant Heat Insulation

Options
Mark Hansen
Mark Hansen Member Posts: 1
I am a heating novice building a 30X50' garage and putting in radiant heat with a couple of propane ceiling heaters to get a quick jump on the heat when I first go in. I am thinking of putting a 3/8" insulator/barrier extruded polystyrene with 3 mil on each side down before I lay the the cement. I saw this stuff on ebay. It has a K-Value of .019 and an equivalent R-value of 11.7. Does this seem reasonable? Should I put on the inside on the outter walls b4 I backfill? Thanks for your help. Mark

Comments

• Constantin
    Constantin Member Posts: 3,796
    Options
    Thermal Mass...

Unless your slab is going to be very thin, the thermal mass is going to get in your way of heating it quickly. Your money might be better spent on eliminating the propane heaters and improving the insulation to a point where the propane heaters are not needed.

I find the claims of thin-film radiative barrier coatings hard to believe. They may work in an attic, but I doubt they'll do much more than create a thermal break below ground. I'm sticking with 2" of XPS below our basement slab, which should pretty much insulate the slab from the ground below. Ditto on the exterior of the foundation wall (at least below ground).

Above ground, historic requirements mandate the use of 4" brick, so only interior insulation will be at work there. If you have open cavity walls at the moment, consider foaming them with Icenyne or better. That, along with good doors should cut down your thermal losses significantly.