Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

hours logged

Options
ken D
ken D Member Posts: 60
I'm having a moral conlict.

I'm a hussler, I work quick but am very detail oriented and want to do a great job done right. But I often found that I might finish a half hour-hour-hour and a half early and am told to stay and find something to do. If there is nothing to do, I feel like I'm robbing the customer who is paying for this nothingness being done by me. I hate sitting in the van with a licensed tech (I'm an apprentice) for the last hour to fill up my 8 hour day. and How can you go to another customer in the last half hour-hour when it'll take 20 mins to get there and your day ends at 4:30. 15-20 mins of work minus clean up and paperwork is not something I'd want to pay for! + portal to portal, etc.

What do I do?

I worked doing 2 jobs at one job site. I put 2 hours on job one and 6 on job 2. The other guy works 6 on one and 2 on job 2 (job 2 is T&M) but he put 2 on the first quote job and billed 6 for job 2 (the T&M) when he only put 2 hours on it. He gets his paper work signed and leaves an hour before me because he started an hour earlier. I go to get my paper work signed and the customer asks me, "You guys spent 12 hours on this job?". Wicked wretch of a coward I am lied and said "I guess so".

I'm not being nor covering for liars any more.

I'm attentive to details in my work, life, and morals. I don't fit in with this world, and am having problems here. I can justify a half hour or so because we're entitled to breaks and Im sure they take extra breaks too from time to time, I honestly see nothing wrong with that. But it often gets outside of being right often enough. I like to work, and like to charge travel/portal to portal etc., I'll round ahead 15-20 mins when its right, but this is frustrating.