Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gypcrete falling Apart?

Options
Joe F
Joe F Member Posts: 11
I had a client call me last night and ask if his new gypsum floor would turn to dust in a few years. He said his carpet saleslady told him the do a lot of motels with gypsum floors that have turned to powder and they can't do a thing with them. Is this a problem with old gypsum, or is she confused about what kind of flooring it is, or water damage?

Any help would be appreciated.

Joe

Comments

• Troy_3
    Troy_3 Member Posts: 479
    Options
    Gypsum concrete

Gypsum concrete is much stronger than it used to be. I don't know what she is referring to. I have been pouring Gypsum concrete floors since 1991. Mostly over radiant floor tubes. I have not seen a floor fall apart. The floor will be powdery if it isn't mixed correctly or if it was frozen when wet. There seems to be this garbage floating around from the 60s that gypsum will just crumble. These same soothsayers recommend air entrained portland concrete over a wood subfloor. That is what scares me. Find a good applicator using a good gypsum product and be confident. Always ask for examples of bad jobs. That usually leads to -well everybody knows it is no good. I'll show you 100 large homes that have had no problem and love it. You still can't beat a thermal mass for comfort and efficiency.
  • t.speed
    t.speed Member Posts: 11
    Options
    gyp floors