Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

cast iron vs mal. ftgs. in steam installations

Options
Hi there Dan;
It was brought to my attention today that cast iron fittings are the best for steam heating. Could you please let me know what your opinion is? I have been using malable fittings for over 5 years with great success. The only reason is that supply houses carry more mallable than cast. To me mallable are stronger so I didn"t care about the cost. Thanks for your time your are a great person for what you do. Godbless *** Ray

Comments

• gerry gill
    gerry gill Member Posts: 3,078
    Options
    cast is for steam

because when it has to be taken apart, and it wont unscrew because its been baked on forever, you can break the fitting off the male threads with a hammer..
    gwgillplumbingandheating.com
    Serving Cleveland's eastern suburbs from Cleveland Heights down to Cuyahoga Falls.

• RP Millers Heating
    RP Millers Heating Member Posts: 3
    Options
    cast iron vs mal ftgs in steam systems

For several years now I have come across stubborn ftgs but an old timer taught me to use a new tool called a sawzall...
    Once you score around the ftgs in qaurters you can hit it like a cast iron with a hammer and you will find that it pops right off the pipe, but just make sure you do not cut too deep or you will damage the threads on the piping.
  • Paul Mitchell
    Paul Mitchell Member Posts: 266
    Options
    Hmmmm

New tool a sawzall?....Sense a little hostility or sarcasm??? You asked we answer...Dan will answer if he sees the question. I asked and that was the answer I got. We have a problem getting cast fittings also. So I use Black only if I have to. Sawzall trick works sometimes...

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • Mad Dog