Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

radiant ceiling/floor in old farmhouse

Options
Thanks for the info.
Couple of points though...
In my area there are very few hydronic radiant instalations. The local contractors ( the ones i have delt with dont know much about it and dont want to. Many of these so called professionals I wouldn't want anywhere withing 5 miles of my farm ( no offence to anyone out there).
Also I am not your average DIYer. I have had lots of experience with advanced projects and am always willing to learn.
I had done a heatloss calculation a while back on a few rooms but ai have ordered the free one from this site.
Also where would I find these seminars? Can you reccomend any books that I my find at the library?
We have a pretty good Tech Coll. nearby.
I even wouldnt mind taking a few courses.
Also I forgot to mention that the system will be heated by an outside wood fired boiler. It will in time supply heat to more than one structure.
Thanks

Comments

• jkebxjunke
    jkebxjunke Member Posts: 3
    Options
    radiant ceiling/floor in old farmhouse

I have an old farm house with no current heating system.
    I am going to be doing a fair amount of remodeling and I want to put in a heating system. The house is on a crawl-space that is not too accesible. There is an attic over about 2/3 of it. It is a 2 story with hardwood floors in most.
    I was looking at the ceilings on the downstairs and noticed that some of them are cracked. I was thinking of removing the ceilings on the lower level which would give me access to the floors above. I was thinking of putting tubes to the floor above, a radiant barrier, insulation, radiant barrier, tubes and then ceiling. I also wanted to put in the ductwork for ac at the same time( most likely the high velocity system with the small ducts).