Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

P H test help

Options
LEAD PIPE
LEAD PIPE Member Posts: 199
I just got around to testing the water in the system for the ultra boiler. The manual says the ph should be between 7 and 8.5. mine is just about 6. What do I need to do and how do I do it? I'm a wethead noob so please be specific.

thanks for the help

Comments

• Firedragon_4
    Firedragon_4 Member Posts: 1,436
    Options
    You need to add a little

baking soda. Baking soda is a 9 Ph, so if it's a 4 section or less, I throw in a pound. Mix it with water first and it gets easy.
  • Mr. Smith
    Mr. Smith Member Posts: 26
    Options
    never

would have thought about baking soda!!!

what do you use to bring the level down???

my guess would be vinegar or something similar. what if you are using glycol in your system?

Chris

• hr
    hr Member Posts: 6,106
    Options
    That's an aluminum

heat exchanger. You need to be real careful with water treatment, as you noted it has a tight tolerance. Are you saying you drinking water runs a ph of 6?

I think I would be sure to flush and clean that system first. It could be residual solder flux or something throwing that ph to that range.

After a good clean and flush, again test the fluid. Considering the cost of that boiler I would consider a good hydronic treatment conditioner. A good treatment will buffer the ph, scavange any O2, and most importantly for that HX, it will offer a film provider to coat and protect the aluminum from any attacks. This way you assure good heat transfer from the burner to the fluid. Even a tiny amount of scale or hardness build up throws the low mass, small passage HXs for a loop.