Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Training Manual?

Options
Bill NTSG
Bill NTSG Member Posts: 321
a training manual for training mechanics to train todays generation of apprentices??

First off, I am an ignorant old redneck and my father was in the Marine Corps. I have worked for blue collar working class drinking men bosses most of my life and know no other way.

We have a very sensitive young man in his early 20's. He has complained to my boss that I 'yelled' at him. Dude, every time I ask this person to do something there is a debate.

I have 30 yrs experience in the trade but I never had children so I do not know how to pamper and coddle this more sensitive younger generation. I am expected to treat him like an equal and he has 3 months in the trade?

In two days he has broken my hacksaw, my level, my tubing cutter, and what else I don't know yet. What the .... On the ride home today he sulked for 20 minutes and spoke not a word. I yelled at 8:05 am , and I didn't even yell. He has the boss and the other 2 guys buffaloed so it is 3 against 1.

What am I supposed to do? Could some one suggest a book. I have trained people in the past, they have become very good tradespeople

Comments

• Firedragon_4
    Firedragon_4 Member Posts: 1,436
    Options
    I would use the NORA/NAOHSM/PMAA

etc, etc. book. It's been around forever and now under NORA at $25.00 a copy it's hard to beat for the $$$.

As to your rookie, if he's such a problem, ask the boss to have him work with someone else.

Don't worry about it Bill, the younger generation are not all like him, but it's hard to find middle ground today. They either get it or they don't.

There's a lot of older people in that category too! It's all how you were raised and a matter of ethics.
  • Leo
    Leo Member Posts: 770
    Options
    Little Wimps

Hi Bill,