Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

PEX tubing embeded in asphalt driveway

Options
The most common driveway paving material around seems to be asphalt. Why is that? Poured concrete paving can't compete?. Actually, I don't know why we see so much of it. All I know is it's a damn poor conductor of heat and a poor choice for melting off driveway snowfall. Hovever, that's the specified drive I'm working on.

I am aware of the dangers of pouring hot asphalt over embeded PEX tubing circuits. This is a major concern of mine as I have never used this type of cover before.

I have been instructed that running cold water through the circuits while the asphalt is being laid down will prevent any damage to the PEX tubing. However, it seems to me that blacktop is WAY TOO HOT. Even with cold water running through it, covered with a layer of sand. Isn't that stuff in excess of 300 deg.F. when they put it on? Then the steamroller comes along and ....... oh boy! ...... I just might have a heart attack when I see & feel what's comming out the return side of the manifold. Guys, could I be seeing some steam?

Any "real world" experience or tips from you snow melting Wallies would be of great interest to me before I get my Wethead feet wet on this one.

Thanks. (GW)

Comments

• John MacGregor_2
    John MacGregor_2 Member Posts: 32
    Options
    Asphalt & snowmelt