Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

sch 40 pvc dwv underground

Options
Jim Walls
Jim Walls Member Posts: 49
I have been installing pvc & cast iron for over 25 years. To this date have not had, nor heard of any failures,complaints,or negative comments of any kind about any pvc installations. Just like everything else it has it's applications,limits, and installation guidelines. You must use the correct primer,cleaner,solvent
for the application,install within the proper climate conditions, store the material & primer,cleaner,solvent within the temperature ranges identified by the manufacturer
Do I like it,would I choose one over the other? I'am a throwback, I love the skills required to use cast iron,I wish we were still wiping lead and using lead & oakum joints. But that is not realistic, I see nothing wrong with pvc, when installed within ALL, rules & guidelines. I just removed the old glogged cast iron & galvinized from my house & put in pvc. My company does alot of commercial work, schools,hospitals,etc,,,many of these have pvc undergrounds & cast iron upper roughs,pvc underground will not allow roots to penetrate,doesnot react to soil conditions, cast iron above ground is quieter, keeps the toxic fumes out of open return air plenums and so on.
So to sum it up, I wish we didnot use Pvc, but I cannot find a reason not to.

Comments

• Brian_8
    Brian_8 Member Posts: 1
    Options
    pvc sch 40 dwv underground installations

I have recently been appointed to our counties plumbing board, and the subject of allowing pvc underground has surfaced. any input positive or negative will be of great help. Also any real life experiences of replacing failed pvc underground. My main concern is that if we allow its use, it will not be installed per ASTM D2321. Thanks for your input.
  • chuck shaw