Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

A/C

Options

Comments

• masterplumb
    masterplumb Member Posts: 93
    Options
    Johnson control 66

I was repairing an a/c condensing unit the other day, and there was a control that was inside the unit that Ive never seen. It was a blue box and it said Johnson controls "66". I have decent a/c knowledge but I am by no means an expert, but have serviced quite a bit. There is a capilary tube that comes out of this box and ties into the valve on the high side on the condensing unit. My guess is that this is some kind of fan control? but I am not sure. What does this control do and what is its purpose. There is also a dehumidifier system that the boiler heats into a coil in the duct.I know it isnt hydro air because there is a stat for this and there is baseboard heat in this zone and im not sure if this has anything to do with that Johnson control. Any input or direction would help.Chris
  • Don_4
    Don_4 Member Posts: 36
    Options
    Fan Speed?

Check this link. It indicates the control is on a three phase system and controls condenser fan speed. http://www.johnsoncontrols.com/cg/html/refrigeration_controls.htm
  • Bob_19
    Bob_19 Member Posts: 94
    Options
    Lets see

not to sure on the model number use, but if it's on the high side there is a very good chance it's for head pressure control. Could be condenser fan control, or HPCO for compressor.
    What area of the country are you in? Is this a residential split system?
  • masterplumb
    Options
    Info