Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

thinking of building my own electronic controls for radiant

Options
Aidan (UK)
Aidan (UK) Member Posts: 290
I’m a mechanical engineer (heating, chilled water, ventilation, etc.) & I started getting involved with some BMS/DDC building control systems about 10 years back. The BMS was needed to control the mechanical plant that I was designing, specifying or installing.

BMS systems can monitor or control anything; gas, water, oil and electric meters; switch pumps, fans or heaters; control temperature, humidity, de-hum, room pressure, etc.. The cost was virtually the only limitation.

The thermostats you mentioned are technical dinosaurs; why would anyone want an electro-mechanical switch assembly with a +/- 1 degF accuracy when you can control to +/- 0.1 deg with a 40c bead thermistor?. Why does the UK have thermostats with mains (230 V) ac when you can run better control wiring on 10 V dc? This is assuming you have a compatible electronic controller on the other end of the wiring.

Having invested the effort to learn about BMS systems ( to the extent that I was reprogramming some of the low-bid control software) I thought I’d like to instal a similar system in my home. There’s nothing available, excluding commercial stuff at £300 for a controller and £500 for the supervisor software, which doesn’t allow you to program the outstations. Why not? I can buy a £5 calculator in the supermaket, why can’t I buy a £100 electronic heating controller? Why can’t I monitor my heating systems performance on my PC or download a suitable control strategy from the internet?