Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Insulating floors

Options
While there certainly are situations where insulating under the entire slab does not make sense (southern CA, for example, might be one), it is NOT the policy of Watts Radiant to recommend AGAINST insulating under a radiant slab.
It's actually quite easy to model heat loss/energy usage with and without underslab insulation and determine the payback period.
John @ Watts Radiant

Comments

• Joh n Brickey
    Joh n Brickey Member Posts: 43
    Options

I have been doing infloor heat for about 10 years and I have always insulated under the floors. I have been bidding jobs against other companies that tell the customers it is a waiste of time. The last guy told me it would be cheaper and faster to use a bigger boiler. This is like saying "why put insulation in the walls of a new house it would be cheaper to put in a bigger furnace". Let me know what you guys think of this.
  • Al Letellier
    Al Letellier Member Posts: 781
    Options
    floor insulation

Sounds to me like someone is tryingto re-invent the wheel and doesn't know that it has to be round........

To Learn More About This Contractor, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Contractor"
  • Joh n Brickey
    Options

I'm not sure what a wheel has to do with insulating a floor
  • Mark Hunt
    Mark Hunt Member Posts: 4,909
    Options
    They HAVE to be insulated

and the guys that say it's a waste of time should be forced to pay the customers heating bills!

Your analogy of building a home with no insulation in the walls is perfect! Explain it to the customer exactly the way you did here.

Mark H

To Learn More About This Contractor, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Contractor"
  • Joh n Brickey
    Options