Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New boiler problems

Options
airhead
airhead Member Posts: 9
I was sent to evaluate a system in a newly constructed building. The load on the system consists of 2 rooftop AHU's & indirect DHW. The system uses the condensate recievers to vent the air. The pressure is set to 5psi hi fire then 8psi lo fire. There are vacuum breakers at the boiler and each AHU. The problem is that it surges very wildly and on startup {morning warmup} the water level drops faster than the makeup pumps can refill system. It has been treated and been skimmed. It is my feeling that 1 the pressure is set too high 2 there should be #76 vents at AHU'S 3 that there is still contaminents in the water. The problem is that the ENGINEERS wont allow me to change anything. Any suggestions on how to approach this. I am just a tech trying to do the right thing. THANKS for any suggestions. Checked near boiler piping is ok

Comments

• Gary Fereday
    Gary Fereday Member Posts: 427
    Options
    Brainstorm here!

Is the steam side of the system insulated? Is the steam side of the system graded to carry off the condensate. i.e. traps at low points. ( does the water overfill the boiler after warm up ?) (excess condensate from the surges most likely does this). When the ENGINEERS are not looking set the steam pressure lower and see if that stops the surging. Yes Skimming could be causeing this, sometimes skimming a boiler is needed more than just once or twice on a new start up. Air in the system not vented but pushed to the condensate recievers is ok! If the system is graded and drains properly. a big trap of standing water in a low or trapped place in the system (either condensate or Steam) could be the cause. Like I said "just brainstorming"
    bigugh
  • Gary Fereday
    Gary Fereday Member Posts: 427
    Options