Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Staple up and Aqua -Pex couplings?

Options
GAverill_2
GAverill_2 Member Posts: 20
Is there a concern in doing a remodel with staple up radiant heating in a residence, where the plumber has run new water lines in Wirsbo Aqua-Pex with the expander pex fittings,in some of the same floor joists?
As a representative competiting with Wirsbo, we hear complaints about leaks in these fittings when installed 'cold'. We do not want to solve a comfort problem by creating problems with the plumbing system in this home.
Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Paul Rohrs_2
    Paul Rohrs_2 Member Posts: 171
    Options
    Propex Fittings

I am a certified trainer for Wirsbo's aquapex. The tubing can sustain up to 1200psi before ductile failure occurs and the propex (expanded) fitting will still hold. It is a well designed system. I would not think twice about the quality level. If you have questions or concerns, please call me. You have my number. I had the stadler viega reps in last week and they tried telling me that you had to use a heat gun on every expanded fitting. Totally false, we all know what a competitive market it is out there and reps are trying to differentiating pex lines with less than responsible statements. I do not bleed Uponor "Green" but a 42% national market share speaks volumes about quality control, integrity, and vision for the future. Love to discuss this more and hear if others have similars concerns

Paul Rohrs

Lincoln Winnelson
  • Paul Rohrs_2
    Paul Rohrs_2 Member Posts: 171
    Options
    Not my intent