Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

steam recovery to heat greenhouse

Options
How would one go about recovering steam produced by a boiler to heat parts of the building which are not heated. I am thinking about steam normally emitted by commercial builings or municipalities. Also, are boilers on continuously during the winter? I ask because I need to have a constant heat source. I am a student studying sustainable development. If you have any ideas please feel free to pass them along.

Thanks,
Ben Wiles

Comments

• Tom Anderson
    Tom Anderson Member Posts: 40
    Options
    Thermal Greenhouse Recovery

Using waste heat from a power plant for utilization in a greenhouse is a viable concept..... if I understand you inquiry correctly.

In fact, such a design concept won the ASHRAE innovative design/efficiency award one year in the early 90's.

After all, the heat would otherwise be dumped directkly into the atmosphere via cooling towers. Of course, one must consider heating neds of a greenhouse when the power plant is down for service/maintenance.

Hope this helps........
  • Art Pittaway_2
    Art Pittaway_2 Member Posts: 80
    Options
    Recycled steam

Good question, if you want to see a greenhouse that will lock your calculator, visit the Archer,Daniels,Midland Company (A.D.M.) in Decatur, Illinois. Or contact them and see if they have info they can send. They process grain and make food products of all kinds. The company has several acres under glass and all winter it produces cucumbers, lettuce, etc. from "waste" steam.