Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Advice on which radiant baseboard to use.

Options
ken_6
ken_6 Member Posts: 33
HAVE YOU CONTACTED PAUL ROSS AT HYDRONIC ALTERNATIVES
HE COULD TELL YOU WHATS WRONG WITH THE ORIGINAL INSTALL PERHAPS RATHER THAN REPLACE

Comments

• Chris @ Marrone Construction
    Options
    radiant baseboard

I am a General Contractor and we are retrofiting a home with new radiant baseboard that we built new approx. 8yrs. ago. Almost all our homes are "in floor" systems of one kind or another and we are accustomed to completely quiet systems. But, on this one we used radiant baseboard. Originally we used Radiant Technoligies "Radiant Panel". We've had nothing but noise problems that we are unable to fully eliminate. Without going into great detail, understand that the system was installed by my HVAC sub and is above industry standard in terms of installation quality and design. There are no issues with air noise, boiler design, circ. pump sizing or location, mixing valves, etc. We are using a Buderus boiler with Viesmann four way mixing valve and outdoor reset. We've tried constant circulation and that helped some but not enough. The noise is simply inherent to the design of the panels when they are operating in the 140-180 range. In any case, I am removing all of it and replacing with either a cast iron system like Burnham "Base Ray" or Runtal RF-2 and RF-3. I also have available Radson, Vasco, and Myson products but they aren't seen at all in this neck of the woods. Because of the PEX supply and return line locations and existing finished floor, walls, and electrical receptacles, I am for the most part restricted to this style of horizontal baseboard. Any advice/opinion from professionals with a lot of experience installing either one of these products? Ease of installation, quality of the fin