Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How does one get an idea on RFH costs?

Options
Paul_10
Paul_10 Member Posts: 4
We are planning a new colonial style 2 story home, about 3300 sq. ft plus probably another 1000 basement that will be eventually finished, and a 3 car garage.

I have NO experience with RFH, but really want it in my new home for a variety of reasons including comfort and health.

We're trying to make some basic financial planning decisions, but many of our "wants" like Icynene insulation and hardwood floors throughout for me, and granite in the kitchen for my wife are bumping up against financial reality.

Is there a way to get an idea of what a system in this size range would cost? We do have a floorplan, and I did send away for some information from Radiantec, but I didn't find their product/system to give me much confidence.

We would like to have multizoned as much as reasonably possible, and adjusted to outside temp. I am willing to do some work to lower costs if I can. This is a custom home, built by Amish, so we can do whatever we want.

I was told that this forum is THE place to be WRT hydronic heating, and I apologize for such a FAQ question, but I've heard from people who say they installed a system in a house my size for $5k, and another guy who said he was quoted $50K. Who to believe....

thanks!

Comments

• Floyd
    Floyd Member Posts: 429
    Options
    RFH is a needed item!!!!

You do NOT want to build your house with out it... and do NOT attempt to do it yourself!!!
    Find a competent contractor who knows radiant!!!!

You can will find a very wide range of prices.. if you go with something in the middle you will
    probably end up with a good system... but without all the bells and whistles!!!!