Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Controlling wood boiler and a gas boiler - RAM

Options
I have a job with a wood fired boiler with a gas boiler for back-up. They inject into a primary loop. Out of the primary loop I have a DHW zone, a high temp BB zone, and an injection loop into 3 RFH zones. This injection is controlled with a tekmar 356 with outdoor reset. All zones are controlled by a self built relay panel.

Any ideas on how to control the boilers? I want to only bring on the gas boiler if the wood boiler is down... I don't want them both running at the same time. Wood boiler goes into a heat exchanger and will be on continious circ. So if it drops out and goes to gas, then HO fires wood back up I need it to switch back automatically.

It is my first time with wood boiler. I have 2-staged gas and/or electric but this is not really 2-staging.

Ideas please?

Thanks

Richard Miller

Comments

• Terry
    Terry Member Posts: 186
    Options
    what i've used

I had a similar application whereas I used a Tekmar #150 Setpoint Control with the 071 sensor located on the discharge of the wood boiler.
    If the Solid Fuel Boiler was fired, the 150 (which is set to Bang-Bang Mode, Heating)would sense the hot water and the NC contacts would open, shutting down circuit to gas-fired.
    Once the Solid Fuel unit cooled, the 150 will close NC contacts (which switch on the gas-fired cicuit).

The same could probably be done with a regular aquastat (open on rise). Sense Temp @ Solid Fuel discharge and break gas-fired circuit if water is hot @ solid fuel.

Hope this helps :)

Terry

• Richard Miller_2
    Richard Miller_2 Member Posts: 139
    Options

thanks... I was thinking along the lines of an aquastat but like the tekmar idea too.
  • Terry
    Terry Member Posts: 186
    Options
    150 vs aqua