Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help

Options
ThermalJake
ThermalJake Member Posts: 127
Okay, I have this old Miller furnace in my trailer. It is an atmospheric LP burner from the mid-1980's. I posted a question about the air adjustment the other day, but without response. My teacher in Heating 101 suggests that I convert it to an oil burner or a power burner (if for no other reason than the parts are available for it). My supply house was little help when it came to atmospheric burner adjustments (I guess they are rare nowadays). He gave me the tech #, but they said that the air is factory set and non-adjustable. This seems odd to me, but I am a novice. Is it really possible to have no air adjustment? I could easily convert to a modern LP power burner. I could also get an oil tank and easily convert to an oil burner. So I have two questions:

1) Does anyone know anything about these atmospheric burners?

2) Should I convert to the power burner or go all the way and convert to oil?

Thanx

Jake

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Comments

• Mark Hunt
    Mark Hunt Member Posts: 4,909
    Options
    Coupla' questions.

First, are there no air shutters on the burners?

Second, I did not see your other post and maybe the answer is in it but, why do you need to adjust the air?

Third, Do you have a combustion analyser? I would not recommend playing around with the air adjustments without one.

I used to work on lots o Miller furnaces, if you post the model # I might have some old books lying around.

Mark H

To Learn More About This Contractor, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Contractor"
  • John@Reliable
    John@Reliable Member Posts: 379
    Options
    What to do?