Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Older Viessmann boilers

Options
I am a contractor building myself a new house (finally!) and was looking for a little professional advice from a impartial group. The house will be about 5000 sq ft.& insulated to the max, approximately 2000 sq ft of stadler climate panels 1st floor ,2300 sq ft of hydro air 2nd floor and I am trying to add 700 ft of baseboard to existing garage which is currently family/kitchen-we added 3400' house onto 1500' garage. So anyway, my question is this-I have the chance to purchase a Viessmann AR 270 gas boiler with a 92 gal VC92 IWH from my supply house,it is a leftover from August 1997,but brand new.Is this the right type of Boiler for the heating applications I have listed? Is there anything I should look for with the boiler? I have heard that it is a little big,but what are the pros & cons to this.
I live near Boston,Ma ,just to give you an idea of location.
Thanks for any input.

Comments

• Bill NTSG
    Bill NTSG Member Posts: 321
    Options
    Viessmann

My Viessman was 10 yrs old before I got it. Sat on the showroom floor. My supplier gave a good deal on it. No regrets. I could not have afforded a new one on what I make.If you can get the Trimatic control with it that would be good. How much too big? It sounds like you have a lot going on there.
  • Steve Fabrizio
    Steve Fabrizio Member Posts: 4
    Options

I ahve heard that it is around 75k to big. It does come with a Trimatic, but it is the style that has the dials & not the digital readout,I don't know if this makes a difference or not. I have also heard that I should not be using an atmospheric boiler with this application of heat- but again I don't know, does anyone out there know?
    thanks
  • Bill NTSG
    Bill NTSG Member Posts: 321
    Options
    Trimatic