Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Annual Service (I need pricing help)

Options
B. Tice
B. Tice Member Posts: 206
Unbelievable.......I should move south. I credit you Guys to death for getting good money, but NO WAY could I get that here.

Comments

• Jim_47
    Jim_47 Member Posts: 244
    Options
    Annual Service (I need pricing help)

Ladies and Gents I need your help
    I am an independant heating contractor in upstate NY. Recently I have found that my pricing of my annual service (cleanout) of Oil fired equipment is way off the mark in reference to the OIL company prices. I found this out thru the local VoTech as well as feed back from the large increase of new customers.
    Let me tell you that every cleaning takes between 75 & 90 minutes and sometimes I am there for two hours. Now I am usually a flat rate guy when it comes to the cleaning. this is where I get my new customers, but this time I am gaining customers as well as loosing money and time.
    I went to remove the stack pipe from an "oil company" customers boiler and they asked what the HELL I was doing. I told them that every cleaning gets a brushing and vac job and they said they were not paying for the deluxe service they just wanted the basic. I had to explain the entire service is preventive and diagnostic and will also include changing of consumable parts, as well as a cumbustion analization of the flue gases and efficiency test. I think I got a customer for life! THe stack had no hole for the testing of exhaust, and when I did test it was pumping a solid 340ppm of CO with a CO2 of 14.3%. I was able to get it down to 0 ppm CO and 11.9% CO2 with an eff. of 82.7% Not bad for an 15yo boiler. Please help, What are you getting for the "DELUXE but minimum in my book" cleaning??
    thanks
  • Online Sheriff \"Murph\"
    Options