Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

propane vs, oil

Options
Bill_2
Bill_2 Member Posts: 5
Hello, I'm a builder living near Seattle begining my own home. The home will be 2700 sq.ft., one level, concrete floors, and radiant heated. This is my first project using a radiant system so I'm doing alot of research. This website is great! Gas is not available in our area, only oil and propane. In the past, oil seemed to be the fuel of choice for radiant systems. I recently have talked with two radiant contractors who advocate propane- one a Buderus and the other a Munchkin. What to do... oil vs. propane?
The Munchkin seems interesting.
Thanks for any input

Comments

• Bill_2
    Options
    propane vs. oil

Hello, I'm a builder living near Seattle begining my own home. The home will be 2700 sq.ft., one level, concrete floors, and radiant heated. This is my first project using a radiant system so I'm doing alot of research. This website is great! Gas is not available in our area, only oil and propane. In the past, oil seemed to be the fuel of choice for radiant systems. I recently have talked with two radiant contractors who advocate propane- one a Buderus and the other a Munchkin. What to do... oil vs. propane?
    The Munchkin seems interesting.

Thanks for any input, Bill
  • heatboy
    heatboy Member Posts: 1,468
    Options
    With low temperature radiant............

I would opt for propane. I have two radiant projects that will both have modulating burner, condensing propane fired boilers. Both could have gone oil, but the advantages of propane made it the ideal fuel choice. Condensing technology would be a great selection with a low temperature radiant system of 140° or less.

Warm Regards,

heatboy

"Expert in Silent Warmth"™