Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

zone valves vs. zone pumps

Options
I'm not going to cut down Honeywell or W/R but if you haven't tried the new Automag UR zone valve, I strongly suggest you give it a shot. I've been using Automag for 25 years now and have had two failures (bad coils). The new UR valve is even better. I can't begin to say that about any other valve.

Comments

• Tom Simensen
    Tom Simensen Member Posts: 74
    Options
    zone valves & zone circulators

Does any one know how many motorized valves are used each year in the USA as compared to circulators for zoning? Or do you know where I could find this information?
  • Rich Kontny
    Rich Kontny Member Posts: 9
    Options
    Zone valve comparison

I would think marketing at Erie Mfg here in Milwaukee or Taco out east could give you a fairly accurate estimate!

MP 1969
  • Gary Fereday
    Gary Fereday Member Posts: 427
    Options
    Post your results!

ZV's are less exp[ensive than ZP's. ZP's have are inheriantly more redundant! Is the public more "price" consicous, or "Safety" consicous? bigugh
  • eleft_4
    eleft_4 Member Posts: 509
    Options
    bigugh ? zone valves vs. zone pumps

Please clarify safety conscious.... is there a problem with one or the other?

al
  • Gary Fereday
    Options
    Poor use of words perhaps

If the pump fails on a ZV system your out of luck and perhaps the system or its building will freeze. If you lose a ZP on a system the other ZP's will stave off freezing. Just my humble opinion! bigugh
  • Gary Fereday
    Options
    This is of course

residential. Large cpmmercial jobs have two or more pumps that push to ZV's. If one pump cannot handle (dies) the load the other pumps come on line to keep the system going. bigugh
  • Boilerpro
    Boilerpro Member Posts: 410
    Options