Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Aquastat Settings

Tom Curlee
Tom Curlee Member Posts: 3
Hello,

I am a retired IBM design engineer and a trustee at Poughkeepsie (NY) United Methodist Church. With the help of a professional engineer, I have been studying our church's heating system and we are about to replace the circulator pumps on each of our 4 boilers.

Each pair of boilers is controlled by an aquastat - one in the supply side of the secondary loop (for the "lead" group") and one in the return side of this loop (for the "lag" group). The aquastats are mounted about 3 feet from opposite ends of the "common" pipe.

The aquastats have a set-point adjustment and a difference adjustment. I found the difference adjustments to be set, years ago presumably, to 5 degrees. A computer model I developed to study the effects of the new circulator pumps indicates that the system is unstable at this setting as follows:

When the supply-side aquastat is satisfied, it causes the 2 lead boilers to shut down, which causes the GPM in the primary loop to drop by about 45%. This, in turn, causes the water temperature at the supply-side aquastat to drop dramatically (more than 5 degrees) since there is LESS boiler water and MORE return-side water being fed to the supply-side "T." This, of course, causes the lead boilers, which just shut down, to start up again (after a short aquastat thermal delay), beginning a series of on-off oscillations.