Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

The CORRECTED tank indicator project

Options
THIS HAS NOW BEEN CORRECTED
I am a student a Dundee University studying mechanical engineering and would like your help with one of my projects.

Most cylinder tanks for heating domestic water are kept in an inaccessible area such as the hotpress / airing cupboard. A person however does not know how much hot water is actually in the cylinder without being there to touch it. It would be inefficient for the tank to be full of hot water all the time and therefore it would be useful to have an indication of the hot contents in an accessible place such as the kitchen. Also there must be enough water for daily events.

My project is to propose a method of indicating to the householder/user remotely, the state of the hot tank contents eg.some sort of scale / reading device. Sketchs must also be shown where appropriate.

Please could you give me any information what so ever on this project or any simple solutions to this.

Your help is much appreicated

Rodney Baxter

Comments

• John@Reliable
    John@Reliable Member Posts: 379
    Options

Rodney, I found it!
    Check out National Magnetic Sensors @ Nationalmagnetic.com
    this should help you. Good Luck
  • Dale
    Dale Member Posts: 1,317
    Options
    Interesting topic, some ideas to ponder