Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Engineer Here with practical question. - Monchoychoy

Options
Monchoychoy
Monchoychoy Member Posts: 4
I'm a HVAC engineer. I started in the field, but I'm good at taking apart and diagnosing, but fixing is pretty ugly. Anyway, I'm looking into building a house. About 1200-1500 sq.ft. plus two car garage. What type of system would be best? One boiler to run radiant, DHW, and heat coil for winter ventilation w/ hi velocity A/C system? What manufacturers should I look into. I can get any kind of equipment, but I also want something with a good track record and easy to obtain parts (a good european model may work better, but if it takes three weeks to get a replacement module...) Oh yeah, I'm in Massachusetts. Probably use gas fired. Just looking for suggestions since most of my radient experience comes with large schools and other public buildings. Thanks guys.

Comments

• Paul Pollets_2
    Paul Pollets_2 Member Posts: 63
    Options
    System

I'd use a Viessmann Vitogas boiler and Indirect water tank for DHW. The Vitotronic 200 control could handle the radiant and high temp coil in the air handler. I'd use Wirsbo radiant floor tubing and distribution manifolds, not to mention the AquaPEX potable tubing. I've been using the Unico mini-duct systems and like the company and product.

To Learn More About This Contractor, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Contractor"
  • joel_4
    joel_4 Member Posts: 42
    Options
    Mass

Where In Mass ? Perhaps we can help you. I agree with Paul about the Viessmann and Unico. We've done 10 Unico's the last 6 weeks or so and several over the last 6-7 years. no problem with Viessmann parts these are no harder to get than any others if you deal with the right people.
  • John@Reliable
    John@Reliable Member Posts: 379
    Options