Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Slab on Grade Foundation/Perimeter Insulation Detail?

Options
Richard Miller
Richard Miller Member Posts: 68
edited April 30 in Radiant Heating

Background… I could use some help… I am doing my own 40x70 house/shop, slab on grade in southern Missouri. In “another lifetime” I was a Master Plumber and designed and installed radiant systems. Unfortunately, after many years of severe emotional and mental trauma, I have forgotten almost everything I once knew about radiant. I simply cannot remember how I did the footer and perimeter insulation on a monolithic slab.

1. This will be stick framed, with metal siding (like a pole barn, except stick framed on a monolithic slab).

2. What the best way to do my edge and perimeter insulation?

3. Do I have my dirt guy overdig by 2” to accommodate the insulation? (There will be no backfill. The dirt will be the edge of the footer. I guess I could run the insulation up to the bottom of the 2x10 form, then insulate the rest of the way to the top of the slab after the forms are pulled. That much will be backfilled.

4. I will have about 6” of the slab/footer sticking up out of the ground. Any ideas how to insulate that AND protect it? I might be able to have my metal guys bend some trim the extends down. But that basically creates a hidden termite path.

I’m stumped… any ideas? I’m all ears.

PS. One of these days I will post some stuff I printed off from the Wall back in the late 90’s when I was a regular on here. I doubt anyone besides Dan remembers me, but man, those were heady days for me. Good times.

Comments

• Larry Weingarten
    Larry Weingarten Member Posts: 3,327
    Options

Hi and welcome back! Building Science Corporation has info that might be useful to you. Here is an image I found on their site: Hopefully it's a good start. 😊