Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Fuel Consumption with brand new Lochinvar Noble Combi Unit

Options
Smith19
Smith19 Member Posts: 108
Hello Everyone -
since April I have been living in a new construction standalone apartment in Massachusetts. It was finished in 2022 and is insulated like crazy; the walls, attic, and floors are packed with foam. The heat is a single hydronic baseboard zone running off of a Lochinvar Noble combi boiler, which burns Propane. The propane tank is 100 gallons.

Aside from the boiler, the gas range/oven in the kitchen is the only other appliances that burns propane. This is my first time heating with propane, and my first winter in the place, and I've totally run clean out of propane twice. I'm amazed at how much this boiler is consuming. I am filling the tank every three weeks and it's just too expensive. A few questions:

Do these boilers have issues with their burners? I've seen them installed everywhere and have heard only good things. This unit has also locked out four times this winter for a variety of reasons: low water pressure, not enough oxygen, low gas pressure, and return water temp. being too high.

I can't imagine that I'm really using this much propane in such a small, well insulated space. There is a chance that the unit is meant to burn gas but was never converted to propane. I say this because the landlord told me that the stove wasn't converted to burn propane, and I've noticed.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,365
    edited February 8
    Options
    You really need to get a technician in there who knows and understands Lochinvar boilers to ensure that it was properly set up for propane and that ll the combustion adjustments were checked -- with instruments -- and adjusted to be correct.