Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Beckett AF Oil Furnace Help

Options
Cino
Cino Member Posts: 3
My grandmother has a Beckett that is not working. here is what I can tell you

1. It would light and after a few minutes the reset button would pop. She had some repair guy take a look and it was working after they left.
2. A few weeks later it would start but I could hear some combustion popping. then it would smooth out.
3. She called me today and it was not firing at all. I am handy but I am no hvac mechanic so I put a new nozzle on it, set the electrodes with guage to confirm they were set correctly changed the filter, and made sure the strainer was clean. it still wouldn't fire. The pump is working and my uneducated guess is the transformer is the problem.

what would cause the combustion popping I heard? I am assuming that is where the failure started. Could it be a bad transformer?

Tia

Comments

• Dave Carpentier
    Dave Carpentier Member Posts: 590
    Options
    When you hear the pump running, is it spraying oil ? Might find the tip wet or the electrodes. Dont keep spraying more and more oil into the chamber though.
    Is the control box flashing lights or such before during or after a test ?

30+ yrs in telecom outside plant.
    Currently in building maintenance.
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,895
    edited December 2023
    Options
    You may be causing a problem that is dangerous so stop reseting the primary control