Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler bypass valve

Bridgestone
Bridgestone Member Posts: 22
I have a boiler with with 3 zones and 3 thermostats. Attached is an image of what I believe is a manual bypass valve, half closed. What is the purpose of the valve, should it be open fully, how does it influence water temperature when the boiler is operating. I'm a bit new at this so thanks in advance for any guidence.

Comments

• offdutytech
    offdutytech Member Posts: 133
    That's typically installed as a means of protecting the cast iron boiler from condensing and keeping return water temps above 140 Deg. The valve is usually adjusted and left in a position to blend supply water into the return of the boiler. It's not a perfect way to do it, but is a can work. When I find them on a customers boiler I will usually take the handle off the valve and zip tie it to the pipe. That way nobody accidentally closes it. Newer cast iron boilers come with a control module that can be programmed to delay the pump on to accomplish the same thing. 
  • The Steam Whisperer
    The Steam Whisperer Member Posts: 1,220
    Besides the above purpose, it also will tend to help greatly to protect the boiler from cold shock. If an off zone comes on shortly after another zone shuts off, the boiler is very hot and the off zone water is probably at 70F or cooler. This slug of cold water can cause a rapid shrinking of the castings which can lead to cracks in the boiler castings. Mixing the hot supply water with the cold return water will help bring it up to temperature before it gets to the boiler.
    To learn more about this professional, click here to visit their ad in Find A Contractor.
  • Bridgestone
    Bridgestone Member Posts: 22