Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler relief popping intermittently over the years

Options
fieldmatt2
fieldmatt2 Member Posts: 5
edited October 2023 in Radiant Heating

Hi Guys, i know this is probbaly the 1000th forum out there on releif valves, and im a fairly seasoned tech and have worked on dozens, maybe hundreds of boilers before, however i have a bit of a head scratcher, and just wanna see if i can get some outside input. This is goning to be a bit of a read, but i would appreciate if anyone has some constructive input.

We have a customer who is an older woman, and has been using us after her last company couldnt seem to help her out. Someone replaced her boiler with a utica/dunkirk cast iron boiler, but didnt change out any of the surrounding piping, zone valves, wiring, or anything else, job looks like a total mess. According to date on the unit it was installed in 2010, and she moved in around 2015, and did not have any problems with it. One day in 2019 she had a pipe blow in her upstairs bathroom, and hired a gentleman working with her insurance co. to fix all the damage. Apparently he hired some hack job plumber to fix the plumbing upstairs, and she said he was doing something with the boiler, changed a bunch of parts, (she doesnt know what parts or why he did that exactly) and he didnt give her a receipt. Ever since then shes been having intermittent issues with the releif valve popping off, sometimes it will pop of consistently for a couple of days in a row, and then it will stop, be fine for a month, and start again. She called an hvac conpany who was unsuccesful in trying to figure out the problem, and we are the second company out there. Ive been back a few times just trying a few different things just to see under what conditions the releif will and will not go off.