Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with Bell and Gossett 100 series circulating pump

Hi all, I am new to this message board, so please point me in the right direction if I am breaking any forum rules.

I have a gas boiler with the water circulated via a Bell and Gossett 100 series pump. Last year, right at the end of the season, the coupler went out. I didn't get around to replacing it until recently, and I also replaced the motor mounts while I was at it.

Upon hooking everything up, the pump is making a fairly loud ticking sound. I am having a hard time determining where it's coming from, but my guess would be that it is coming from the motor assembly rather than the bearing assembly. I can try to share a video of the sound the pump makes if that is helpful.
1. Does anyone know where the problem likely lies?
2. I have been reading that there are more modern replacements for this pump such as this Taco 007. Am I better off just replacing the whole pump rather than trying to fix and maintain the B&G 100?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• Big Ed_4
    Big Ed_4 Member Posts: 2,891
    Yes, the mounts of the motor go soft from over oiling and the off alignment of the shafts will chatter and break couplings . If the bearings wear and the shaft has play ,the motor needs to be replaced ...

Not knowing your system , but say it is a mono flow . A Grunfos may be a better match ..

There was an error rendering this rich post.

CBRob
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,703
    We gat type of system? Hot water baseboard?
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Robert_25
    Robert_25 Member Posts: 545
    Hi all, I am new to this message board,