Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Rinnai Primary/Secondary Kit Required?

Options
Hello all, I'm not a professional HVAC guy but a DIYer. I have been in industrial maintenance though but this is my first time doing anything HVAC related.

I am replacing our 37 year old boiler with a new Rinnai i090SN wall mounted unit (non combi). I was doing an inventory of what I could use from my old system with the new system and ran into an issue.

On the old boiler it was a simple In and Out on the water piping with it being daisy chained throughout the baseboards/radiators (so no separate zoning per room) using a single circulating pump. I was reading in the manual for the Rinnai that it REQUIRES the use of a primary secondary heating kit or a low loss header. Do I really need that if its a single zone though? When I've searched online I keep running in to people having them installed with multiple zones but I couldn't find one with someone using it on a simple single zone and I would personally love not to have to spend $350+ on a kit if I don't need to.

Home is well insulated and 1300sq ft in NW Ohio with 2 radiators upstairs and everything else on the main floor.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,199
    Options
    All you need is two tees, maybe 30 bucks worth. Page 5 shows how to
    pipe PS

The tees need to be close together maybe 2-4””
    12” on either side of them
    You still need a good air separator regardless

Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    Mad Dog_2
  • GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,918
    Options