Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ordered!

Options
SteamtoHotWater
SteamtoHotWater Member Posts: 121
edited August 2023 in Radiant Heating

I decided to go ahead and make the primary 1 1/4” because it seemed like the safest thing to do. I’m a little nervous as I haven’t had to sweat pipe in over twenty years. It was a summer job and, as I recall, I kind of sucked at it.
I’ve been pondering this boiler install for a couple of years. I’ve been lurking and reading for about a year. I started seriously researching back in May. Then it took me a good couple of months before my current basic understanding of how involved this little project of mine has become.
I’ve got a couple weeks of demolition ahead of me. And I’m guessing it will take me at least four weeks to install everything. So, right before it gets too cold, after I’ve got everything assembled, expect me back - desperate for advice on how to turn the damned thing on.

I just wanted to especially thank, in no particular order:
hot_rod
EdTheHeaterMan
Mad Dog_2
GGross
dko
Hot_water_fan
Ironman
And anyone else I may have missed who gave their valuable time to help me out. You people obviously have a passion for what you do. I’d gladly buy you a beer or coffee.
Instead, a fun(?) game for anyone who wants to play.
What did it all cost?*
  1. $8,000
  2. $10,000
  3. $12,000
  4. $14,000
The correct price includes everything you see in the diagram, plus a valve control module, a couple of thermostats, 2000’ of PEX, 260 extruded aluminum plates and a few odd tools.

(nevermind)

*(I know prices are verboten, but hopefully this will slide as I’m not soliciting or comparing and they’re just ranges)
GGross

Comments

• DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,538
    Options