Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Furnace/hot water heater pressure relief valve leaking

Wanted to check here to see if anyone had any ideas. I’m by no means a professional, and I have no idea what I am doing, but two days ago, the pressure relief valve on my furnace started dripping pretty heavily. I called my oil company and they came and replaced the valve on it, and said it looked like it had deteriorated and should be fine. I believed that to be true, but then that night I went back down to the basement and it had dripped all day and filled the bucket again. I had them come back out yesterday, and the guy who showed up yesterday said that it’s likely we have a pinhole in the coil, and the whole boiler is going to have to be replaced. He said turn off the cold water and it should stop leaking. We did that and it leaked all night again last night. I called back this morning, he told me to turn off the hot water too and it still is leaking. He then told me to turn the water off where it leads to the furnace, underneath a gold thing, and turn back on my water, but then it leaked again. He then told me to turn off everything and bleed it out, and said it’s definitely a pin hole and that the whole boiler will need to be replaced next week because they can’t just replace a coil. 

I do trust his opinion, but I also want to see if anyone else has thoughts or ideas before I have to drop 2000 on a new tank next week

Comments

• timnotscott
    timnotscott Member Posts: 18
    updating with pics of the system
  • leonz
    leonz Member Posts: 1,237
    Hire a licensed plumber to look at your system!!!!!!!

Your boilers domestic hot water coil does not appear to be connected to your homes hot water plumbing in any way.