Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Analyze the diagram

Options
SteamtoHotWater
SteamtoHotWater Member Posts: 119
edited July 2023 in Radiant Heating

Okay, this is my first sixth attempt. Please, critique away.
Firstly, please make certain that everything works. I’m a complete newb. I’ve definitely made some mistakes, so point them out. It would be really helpful to explain why something is wrong in addition to pointing out the error.
Secondly, if something is code questionable, or otherwise dangerous, please let me know.
Lastly, as I have zero experience, I have no loyalty to a certain methodology or brand. If, in your experience, some manufacturer is janky, speak up. If, I’d be better served approaching this project in a completely different way, I’d like to hear your thoughts. For instance, it’s been mentioned that I might be better served with two manifolds for the different levels - I’m looking into it.
The PEX loops are run in between joists with extruded aluminum heat plates attached to the subfloor, below wood floors (tile in the bathroom). The empty connections on the manifold will be capped for potential future expansion. The drawing is mostly to scale. Though, I imagine the pipe runs won’t exactly follow those paths.
I would like to have two zones on the first floor, as the living room gets a lot more sunlight than the back of the house. But I’m not married to the idea. For one thing, I don’t know a good way of controlling those actuators - suggestions are welcome.
The second floor doesn’t need to be zoned. But I do need the larger bedroom, in orange, to have zero heat, or as close as possible. Would it be bad to use the balancing valve to just reduce the flow to near nothing? If there isn’t an easy way to reduce the heat to the orange room, I might just leave that loop unconnected.